Is this what womanhood has come to?
We romanticize the struggle,
find solidarity in shared hardship:
“I’ve been there.”
“You’ve got this.”
We normalize the pain,
take for granted the fact
that nothing in life is easy,
that we’ve got to keep pushing on –
do our best anyway,
show ‘em who’s boss.
Seriously?
I’m tired of “in spite of it all.”
For once in my life,
can’t I just accomplish something
Without being a hero for it?
No comments:
Post a Comment